Mobile Trigger
  • Voices of GFS
  • Campus
  • Values

Tier 3 Container

Treatments Container

Close

Campus Container

explore our CAMPUS

What's cool about our campus is that it's spread out over seven acres in Philadelphia's historic neighborhood of Germantown. The buildings are an eclectic mix of old and new, a unique look and feel more consistent with a college campus. With three gyms, three auditoriums, a student center, numerous open, green spaces and nine classroom buildings, it's a place worthy of adoration and exploration. The Meetinghouse, at the center of it all, provides a beautiful and spiritual focal point.

1. Main Building 2. Meetinghouse 3. Sharpless 4. Hargroves 5. Wade Science Center 6. Alumni Building 7. Admissions 8. Living Graveyard 9. Dead Graveyard 10. Loeb Performing Arts Center 11. Smith Gym 12. Cary Building 13. Friends Free Library 14. Field House 15. Scattergood Gym

we have deep roots in this place

Values Container

The Pillars of A

Quaker Education

At GFS, students and teachers gather in Meeting for Worship once each week. This is a time for shared, silent contemplation. Anyone who feels moved to speak may rise and do so. It is a simple formula, and can be a remarkably powerful experience.In these days of constant connectivity, the ability and opportunity to sit in silence have special value. Meeting for Worship is a cornerstone of the GFS culture that many come to cherish throughout their lives.

Grid Container

speak the truth

We strive to deal fairly, equally and honestly with everyone. We aim to do as we say, reflecting our beliefs in our actions. even when it is inconvenient or challenging, we stand by our convictions, striving to lead lives of integrity.

Shine Together

We are all blessed with remarkable gifts. We are equally qualified to seek truth and to hear the voice of God. Every person deserves equal respect. For these reasons, we work against prejudice and discrimination and for equality.

stay connected

"Alone we can do little; together we can do so much."* We know there is strength in cooperation and wisdom to be found when many perspectives come together. We believe in the power of community.*
The words of Helen Keller.

keep it simple

In every way we can, we try to minimize the distractions that can draw our attention from the important things in life. This means not becoming overwhelmed by the busyness of daily routine. It means seeking balance. It means embracing simplicity.

care for all

This planet we inhabit, the talents we've been given, the community of which we are a part- all hold remarkable value. We must be responsible, imaginative and proactive in protecting these gifts and caring for the world and people around us. We must exercise good stewardship.

promote peace

We believe each life is precious and unique. We stand against war and violence and work to eliminate their root causes, including ignorance, racism, hatred and oppression. We are committed to creating peace.

Previous
  • Truth
  • Shine
  • Connected
  • Simple
  • Care
  • Peace
Next

Faces Container

Media

previous
next
Edit in Media Manager

Athletics Department

Office Number: 215-951-2331    
     

 

Katie Bergstrom Mark

Director of Athletics

Mike Boorse

Assistant to the Athletic Director

Michael Lintulahti

 

Associate Director of Athletics

 

 

Rachel Profit Scott Assistant Director of Athletics
Kathleen Harte Simone GFS Athletics Media Manager

 

Kathleen Harte Simone Athletics Media Manager

 

Krista LaMaina Assistant Operations & Equipment Manager

Sports Performance Team

  Sport Name Contact

Athletic Trainer

 

Eric Aurelien, MS, LAT, ATC

Phone: 845-721-4202

Athletic Trainer

Morgan Wambold, MS, LAT, ATC Phone: 484-300-5579

 Strength & Conditioning

Matt Sheehan, MEd, CSCS

msheehan@germantownfriends.org
610-909-1074

Head Coaches

  Sport Name Contact
BASEBALL

Randy Mower

rmower@germantownfriends.org
215-951-2690

BOYS BASKETBALL

Shawn Werdt

swerdt@germantownfriends.org
570-449-6196

GIRLS BASKETBALL

Mike Lintulahti

mlintulahti@germantownfriends.org
215-651-7648

 

CREW Brian Severi bseveri@germantownfriends.org
610-256-3130

CROSS
COUNTRY, WINTER T&F, SPRING T&F COED

Conrad Haber

chaber@germantownfriends.org
215-651-7648

 

 

FIELD HOCKEY

Rachel Steinman

rsteinman@germantownfriends.org
267-377-9476

LACROSSE

Katie Bergstrom Mark

katieb@germantownfriends.org
215-292-9684

BOYS SOCCER

Sam McIlvain

smcilvain@germantownfriends.org
347-721-5079

GIRLS SOCCER Manolo Sanchez '10

msanchez@germantownfriends.org
215-850-1984

 

SOFTBALL

vacant

Interested parties should contact Athletics@germantownfriends.org

 

SQUASH DIRECTOR Chris Longman

 

clongman@germantownfriends.org
773-862-1779

 

BOYS SQUASH Stuart George sgeorge@germantownfriends.org

 

GIRLS SQUASH Lauren West lwest@germantownfriends.org

 

TENNIS
BOYS &
GIRLS

Chris Booth cbooth@germantownfriends.org

WRESTLING

Paul Hammond

phammond@germantownfriends.org
710-910-5550